When Someone Asks You How You’re Doing, Say “Amazing.”

Josh L
3 min readMar 26, 2022

--

It separates you from most people who hate their lives

Photo by G-R Mottez on Unsplash

Most people are boring and have low energy.

It’s the way of the world.

When you ask someone how they’re doing, they will give you the same answer everyone does. “I'm good. I’m okay. Not bad.” These are all the standard answers we give.

I understand the reasons why. Usually, our lives are not perfect so saying one of the above phrases is telling the truth. At least partially.

It’s also a quick response and allows the conversation to continue to be moved in a certain direction. You then ask how they are and they say the exact same thing.

I worked at a grocery store a few years ago as a cashier. It was in a small town, and I saw the same people almost every day.

One guy in particular always stood out. He stood out so much that I still remember his name and what he looked like seven years later.

Why is this?

It’s because whenever I asked him how he was doing, he would answer in the same way, every time. It wasn’t the usual response most people gave.

He would say, “I’m amazing today, how are you doing?”

Right away, you knew his energy levels were above the average person’s. He made you stand up taller and talk clearer. His presence and energy level demanded it.

It was nice to hear a different response for once. I looked forward to asking how his day was even though I knew what he was going to say.

Oftentimes, I would already be smiling as I was asking him the question. It was nice to feel positive energy and hear someone in a really good mood for once.

I don’t know what made me think of it again, but I recently have copied his answer. I’ve only been doing it for about two weeks now.

Whenever someone asks me how I am, I respond with, “I’m amazing today, how are you doing?”

It has done me wonders.

Right off the bat, I have noticed that by saying this, I do feel amazing. It’s almost like how they say if you are feeling down, you should smile.

If you want to have a better day, tell yourself that the day you’re having is amazing.

I’ve been a lot more positive in my life. Situations that would normally stress me out have not been as bad recently.

My confidence has risen. I like it when people ask me how I’m doing. I like being different from everyone and showing them that I'm not a walking zombie with no energy.

It’s interesting to see the effect it has on other people as well. When I respond in this manner, people usually smile at me and tell me that’s wonderful to hear.

Some people give me a weird look. These people usually hate life and don’t understand what it’s like to have a good day. They might shrug it off or ignore me, but it doesn’t matter.

You can’t win them all.

You need to try this for yourself.

It doesn't have to be the exact same line. Come up with something that is positive and unique that you can tell people.

You’ll feel better about yourself and you’ll make a positive impact on other people at the same time.

What else could you want?

--

--