The Problem With Zoom Classes

Josh L
3 min readFeb 8, 2022

--

It’s easier than ever to earn a degree

Photo by Pang Yuhao on Unsplash

I’m in college. It’s easy.

Zoom or 100% online has made these classes even easier.

As I write this, I am in the middle of my one zoom class for the week. The professor has spent the last 10 minutes trying to figure out why we can’t hear him on the call.

Wait, we now have the audio but no visual.

I guess that’s something.

Anyway, we are in week three of the class and I have done absolutely nothing. During the calls, I usually turn my microphone off and shut the camera off. Then I write, do the dishes, or take a nap.

In my other three classes for the semester, I post a few times and read a bit and I’m done for the week.

In one class, you can randomly guess the answers to the weekly homework. If you get it wrong, it tells you the right answer. You then click the right answer and get full credit.

It’s a joke.

I am fortunate enough to not be paying for the rest of my education, but I did pay out of pocket for my associate’s degree. When I paid for school, I was always frustrated with the quality of work I was paying for.

I felt like I got nothing out of these classes. I still feel that now, but at least it’s not costing me anything.

I know I never applied myself, but I still passed with ease.

I often think of the students who only go to school and don’t work or do anything else. Maybe with the extra time they put in, they get more out of it. I don’t see how, but I suppose it’s a possibility.

I think even colleges know it’s a joke. That’s why they are able to crunch some 16-week classes into 8 or even 1-week classes. How is this even possible?

There is no way the student who took the 8-week class would be able to cover the same material as the student in the 16-week class. Either the workload or quality of work produced would have to drop.

Speaking of workload, that’s a joke too. You can Google about 80–90% of it. One class I took had Quizlets already made with the exact questions and answers. They were even in order.

Even with no Quizlet available, you can pull up all the readings and resources that the professor provided. You then hit “Ctrl+F” and search for keywords in the document or PowerPoint.

You can do this even if you’ve done none of the readings for the week. If you’ve done the readings it makes it even easier.

This is because the questions on the exams are often in bold in the text anyway and you will likely remember the topic in the readings.

I would say I’ve had easy instructors, but almost everyone I know in school says it’s the same thing.

I’m seriously considering dropping it out for the second time. I’m not going to for two reasons.

One is that I only have two more semesters before I graduate. I feel like if I’ve done this much I might as well complete it.

The other reason is security. Despite feeling like college is a waste of time, I know it will be easier to make a living with a degree. It might not the best, but I’ll be able to survive.

This came out as more of a rant than I wanted it to. If someone feels like they learned a lot in college please let me know.

--

--